RULES FOR WORKING TEENS
Protect yourself -- know the rules that protect working teens!
Workplace Rules from the Vermont Department of Labor and Industry
Employment Certificates are required if a child is under 16 years old and is employed during school hours in other than a duly approved educational or vocational course of study.
Rules for Working 14 & 15 Year Olds
14 & 15 year olds may not work:
- During school hours
- Before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m.
- More than 3 hours per day on school days
- More than 8 hours per day on non-school days
- More than 18 hours per week in school weeks
- More than 40 hours per week in non-school weeks
- More than 6 days in a week
Permitted jobs for 14 & 15 year olds in retail, food and service, and gasoline service stations:
- Office and clerical work, cashiering, selling, price marking, assembling orders, packing and selling, bagging and carrying orders
- Errands and delivery by foot, bicycle, or public transportation
- Cleanup work and maintenance of grounds. Minors cannot operate power mowers or cutters.
- Kitchen work. Minors cannot prepare or clean meat; or work in freezers; or operate food slicers, grinders, mixers.
- Dispense gas and oil
14 & 15 year olds cannot work in any occupation found and declared to be hazardous. This includes but is not limited to manufacturing, processing, use of any power driven machinery.
Rules for Working 16 & 17 Year Olds
A person over 16 and under 18 cannot work in a manufacturing or mechanical job more than 9 hours in any one day or more than 50 hours in any one week.
16 & 17 year olds are prohibited from working in a range of hazardous occupations. Prohibited work includes -- but is not limited to:
- Motor vehicle driving
- Logging and sawmilling
- Operating most power driven machinery
- Roofing and excavation
- Meat packing, processing, or rendering
Rules for Everyone
Vermont law requires that:
- All employers keep true and accurate records of time worked.
- All employees work in a safe and healthy work environment.
- No deductions other than legally authorized taxes can be made from pay without the express authorization of the employee.
This information comes from a publication provided as a public service of the Vermont Department of Labor and Industry. Questions? Call the Wage and Hour Division of Vermont Department of Labor and Industry at (802) 828-2157 or visit their web site at www.state.vt.us/labind.
CLICK HERE TO
RETURN TO THE TOP OF THIS PAGE
AddisonTeens: Information for Addison County Teens, Addison County,
Vermont, at http://www.AddisonTeens.com. This Web site is sponsored by
People of Addison County Together (PACT), a non-profit organization in
Middlebury, Vermont. Copyright 2000 PACT. This page was last updated on